Home > General > Sue Santore INTERVIEW: Author of A Singular Gift and A Singular Chance

Sue Santore INTERVIEW: Author of A Singular Gift and A Singular Chance

I have had the great privilege to interview Sue Santore, Please enjoy as she tells us why she writes and a little about her books. Then head on over to her stores, and purchase a copy of her wonderful books.
Harrison.
Why do you write? Is it something you’ve always done, or always wanted to do? Or is it something that you started fairly recently?

By the time I was in junior high school, I was writing: poems, tiny stories, essays, but I never even dreamed of being a WRITER.  They were those mysterious creatures that filled the shelves of books in libraries.  It wasn’t until I was in my late twenties that I said to myself, “I can do that.”  It wasn’t quite that easy, though.  The second complete book I wrote was published, but not the first, or the third, or–so, let’s skip over those long ago years and get on to modern times.  I have been retired from working full time for three years now and am enjoying have more time to do creative things, such as writing.




Retirement is handy when you have a creative mind. Tell me a little about your books.
I currently have two middle school/young adult fantasy books available as e-books.  A Singular Gift and A Singular Chance.
A Singular Gift is a magical realism fantasy suitable for all ages.  The main character is a 14-year-old girl who struggles to learn to use her recently inherited magic gift.  As she learns how to use her magic, she skirts a dangerous edge.  Does all power corrupt?  Learning to use her magic, forming a teenage magic circle, combating evil adult magic users. Jean, with the help of her friend, Wayne, must use all her wits and the magic her grandmother has left her because as she solves one problem, another pops up. At the end, she faces an evil she never dreamed of.
I planned this book as a stand-alone novel.  However, since then I’ve written a sequel A Singular Chance.  Both books are clean, fast paced, and easy to read.  I’ve had readers from 12 to 72 read and enjoy both books!

A Singular Chance features Jean again, but this book focuses more on her friend, Wayne, from the previous book.

Deep in a cave in Arkansas, Wayne Pierce finds two sources of magic.  One is ancient and one is evil. The evil comes from their old enemy, the Dark Circle.  To Wayne’s horror, he finds the evil circle is using his own cousin and her unborn infant to further their agenda.  Wayne and his friend, Jean, must confront the source of the evil and break the spell. Just when they think they have succeeded, the Dark Circle captures them and they must fight for their own lives as well.

Also, my light romance, A Man For Sylvia,  that was published as a paperback years ago is now available as an ebook
Living in a small town in Maine, Sylvia Perkins is rapidly approaching thirty. She is single, which suits her just fine, thank you very much, but her mother and aunt have a different opinion. To get them off her back, Sylvia makes a bargain with a handsome stranger in town to pretend to be her lover. Her idea is that when she reveals they are not lovers, her family will be so thankful they will leave her along.
Complications arise. When her brother is beaten up and Sylvia’s car is stolen and destroyed, Sylvia has to use all her wits to rescue Craig and herself from some petty thugs connected to the job that brought Craig McDonald, private investigator, to this town.
If you enjoy clean, light romance with a touch of mystery, try A Man For Sylvia.

They sound very thrilling, and A Singular Chance sends a chill down my spine. Have you had much feedback from readers?

So far I only have reviews for A Singular Gift. (The other two books have only recently been available.) I have not received a lot of feedback, but the feedback I’ve received has been almost all very positive.  I have a couple of 3-star reviews because the reviewers thought the book should not be classed as a young adult, but as a middle grade book!  The rest were all 4 and 5 star reviews from people who enjoyed the books very much.  The main problem is getting the books in front of the readers who would enjoy them.  Right now they are buried under Amazon’s method of searching unless you search by the titles or author.

All feedback is positive. Are there any authors who inspire you?

I enjoy reading, so I have many authors I admire.  Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Andre Norton are three that come quickly to my mind.  There are many contemporary writers of fantasy and science fiction that I also have some of their books as keepers.
It’s always nice to have a well stocked library, even if for reference. How do you write? Do you make yourself write a certain number of words per day?
I have two hours each morning that are dedicated to writing.  Sometimes I have more time in the afternoon; sometimes not.  When I’m deep into a book, I strive for 1000 words per working day. However, if I don’t make it, I don’t beat myself up about it either.  Writing should be enjoyable.  When I’m revising, I just work my allotted time.
That’s great advice, a goal is a goal, but it’s not the end of the world if you don’t reach it. Did you try to get a conventional publisher or agent interested before you opted for self-publishing?
I did send out queries to several agents.  One was interested enough to request the entire manuscript, but in the end, said “No, thanks”.  It was frustrating.  My husband actually pushed the idea of self-publishing.  So, finally, I decided to go the e-book route.  They may be available in print editions later, but not at the moment.

Well done hubby, without you we wouldn’t have your creations to enjoy. What goals have you set yourself? Do you want to sell a certain number of books in 2012? Is there some way you measure success, on your own terms?

I have goals for writing. Since I have no control over how many books are sold, I don’t focus on sales, but on writing the next book.
How have you marketed your book(s)? Have you used social media (Twitter, Facebook etc)? Have you paid for any advertising (Facebook Ads, Google Ads etc)? And how did it go?
I use Facebook only for family and a few friends. I am on Twitter, but I don’t do a lot of tweeting about my books.  I see many writers tweeting several times every day with BuyMyBook type tweets.  Since I am turned off by only commercial tweets, I am hesitant to use my Twitter account just to advertise.  I have not done any paid advertising.
What are the links to your book(s)?

A Singular Gift, fantasy for all ages, on  Amazon,  Smashwords,  Barnes & Noble  

A Singular Chance, sequel  on Amazon
A Man For Sylvia, a sweet romance on Amazon
There they are folks…go and buy. What’s next? Are you working on anything at the moment? Do you have anything new coming out in 2012?

I’m working on a short prequel to my Singular Series called A Singular Inheritance.  As soon as I finish the prequel, I’m writing the third book in the series, that’s hinted at in the end of A Singular Chance. The current title is  A Singular World.

You can reach me on Twitter or catch up with me on my blog: About Books, Writing, and More 

Thanks you Sue. Good luck with your writing, and I look forward to reading the next in the lineup.

Categories: General
  1. March 24, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Congratulations on publishing your books, Sue! I look forward to reading them. I like the cover for A Singular Chance–very intriguing.

    I think you are smart to focus on writing the next book. From what I have seen, marketing helps raise initial awareness, but the most important thing authors can do to sell their books is to write more books.

  2. March 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Good interview. Will have to check these out sometime ^_^.

  3. Cat
    March 27, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Thanks for the interesting interview, Sue. I've got A Singular Chance on my eBook reader for my Easter holiday break. Looking forward to it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

