Home > General > My Amazon Woes…

My Amazon Woes…

How hard is it to get Amazon to release an email to everyone who has purchased a book to state there is a revised edition available? (Rhetorical question)

Apparently my word that a new version isn’t good enough to satisfy them. They have demanded I explain what has changed between the version, and only then will they decide if it warrants an email, or whether they will put a small link in Manage my Kindle.

I think this is shocking liberty taken by Amazon, who quite frankly are getting too big for their boots. Apple push updates, as do other providers.

If a mistake is found that could impact on sales, surely Amazon should allow me to spread that fix to everyone.

Incidentally, my fix is a glossary of names, I have rejigged one scene as it bugged me a little, and an autocorrected word. (These don’t impact the story, but I feel it’s important that the reader gets the very best copy).  Apple already have the revised edition, so that puts Amazon behind.

I’ll keep you up to date with the outcome.

Harrison 

Categories: General
  1. April 30, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Well, I've emailed my response and told them how condescending their email was, and that I was the owner and author of said material, and if I deemed the fixes to be critical to the enjoyment of the book, then they should accept that.

    They have annoyed me no end. They get 70% of my revenue stream for listing it on a database. The author does all the hard work.

    How hard is it to press a button that emails customers that an update is available?

  2. May 1, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Very hard apparently (sarcasm). Well that sucks, but what do ya do?

  3. May 2, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Now since yesterday my book has been stuck on publishing for over 24 hours which is not normal…so now I can't upload the revision I want them to correct.

    Banging head off desk!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

