Home > General > From an unexpec…

From an unexpec…

From an unexpected source…thank you. (Extract from a lengthy email)

~
Harrison,

I’ve just finished reading Destiny of the Wulf and thought you might like my feedback!

As you can probably imagine, I’ve been an avid reader for all of my life, often devouring books at a rate of four or five per week. As such, I’ve read a lot of books from every imaginable genre, bar one. I’ve tried many times to read fantasy and for some reason it has never managed to hold my interest. I didn’t even get past the third chapter of Harry Potter, and as much as I’ve tried to tackle it, Lord of the Rings is still unread on my bookcase.

I wanted to let you know that information so you’d understand the importance of what I’m about to say. I not only finished your book in three sittings but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Seriously, I was gripped and couldn’t put it down, and that absolutely astounds me. I really believe you’ve done something extraordinary: you’ve written something that I believe is capable of opening up this genre to the masses. As I’m obviously not a die-hard fantasy fan, I have no idea how it compares. But the mere fact that I willingly and excitingly kept reading speaks volumes to me, so thank you for my first, full fantasy experience.

I’m not entirely sure how you managed to do it, and I’ve been pondering it for a while now, but I think it’s the ease in which I was drawn into your fantasy world. Every scene just seemed so natural and I didn’t even question how or why something weird or strange was happening. You created a world I believed in, fantastic, multi-layered characters, a great plot and enough twists and turns to keep me turning the pages.

As a child, my brother tried so many times to get me interested in Doctor Who and Star Trek, to no avail. I believed fantasy worlds were stupid and could never see beyond that to the stories that lay within. “It doesn’t matter where the story is set,” he’d say to me, “just look a bit deeper and find the reality within.” I’d shoo him away, never giving him the benefit of the doubt. I think I owe him an apology because I want to see what happens next.

E.

From an email I received concerning Destiny of the Wulf.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

